Come Sail Away

PhotobucketWe’ve been threatening to do this in one form or another for years.  Well, at least Stephe and I have.

But we never did.

Then one morning I was driving to work, punching channels on the XM, when “Come Sail Away” by Styx came on.  I don’t know why I decided to stop and actually listen to this song on this day, but I did.  As the song moved from verse to verse with the tempo changing at each bridge I couldn’t help but think that this song could only have been written in the 70s.  It starts with sailing, then goes to angels before ending up with starships.

They must have had some good dope in Styx.

Anyway, I wanted to rant about the sublime 70sness of “Come Sail Away” and had no outlet.

So for better or worse it was Styx that got us off our butts and got this whole thing started. Well, Styx and a really good article on Hunter S. Thompson in “Rolling Stone.”

Inspiration comes from the strangest places.

And here we are.

Trust me, the story was much funnier several months ago.

Or at least I thought it was.

That’s what Gonzogeek is all about.  It’s a place for a group of likeminded guys to get our thoughts out just in case anybody cares.  We’ll talk about whatever strikes our fancy:  music, movies, books, politics, our current obsessions.

Whatever.

Read along if you’re interested.

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

