Monday Meandering

Photobucket

Spent a lot of time over the weekend thinking about what to write here. Decided to follow that tried and true advice. Write what you know. So, without further ado, some thoughts…

BREAKING BAD – The new show on AMC has serious promise. Don’t believe me? Just look at that picture up there and tell me you aren’t a little curious. Bryan Cranston, of Seinfeld & Malcom in the Middle fame, plays a middle-aged guy who gets hit with some bad news and decides to take drastic measures to insure that his family is taken care of. It’s dark and it’s funny. Give it a shot of that sounds up your alley.

I’LL SLEEP WHEN I’M DEAD – I finished the biography of Warren Zevon written by his ex-wife. It’s a good read. The book chronicles Zevon’s rise to fame in the 70s and then on and off brushes with it until his death from cancer in 2003. I came late to the Zevon party, but have since turned into a huge fan. This is a “warts and all” story. Zevon’s struggles with alcohol, drugs, OCD and sex addiction are all covered. Having the people who were in his life tell the story gives it a real personal touch.

SUPERMAN RETURNS – I finally finished watching this last night on the DVR and all I can say is “is it so hard to make a good Superman movie?” In fact, I said it several out loud several times last night. They’ve made 5 Superman movies in my lifetime and only 1 1/2 good ones. Superman is iconic. I don’t want to see him get beat down by a trio of anonymous Luthor goons. I don’t want Luthor shanking him with a Kryptonite shiv. I want big action and big picture Luthor. Spacye showed glimpses, but Brandon Routh was dull as dirt.

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

