Every Last Drop

on
The further (mis)adventures of Joe Pitt
The further (mis)adventures of Joe Pitt

 

This gun.  I love this gun.  There are so many wonderful things I can do with this gun.  So many people I can kill.

People usually laugh when I tell them that I keep my Amazon recommendation list up to date.

I don’t know why that is, but they do.  Like any good database, if you give it enough information it will spit out good results.

That, my dear readers, is how I discovered Charlie Huston.

And I’m so glad I did.

Mr. Huston has written the Hank Thompson trilogy, The Shotgun Rule and the Joe Pitt casebooks.

Every Last Drop is the 4th (allegedly of 5) of the Pitt books.

Pitt, a rogue vampyre (his spelling, not mine) fixer, lives in a modern Manhattan controlled by various Clans, all of whom are scheming to take more control.

Well, that is until the end of the last book.  That was when Joe finally got himself kicked out of Manhattan and banished to the Bronx.  Turns out that is a lonely place to be a vampyre.

That is where Every Last Drop picks up.  After a year in the wilderness, Joe runs afoul of Lament, a recruiter/trainer for the Coalition, the most powerful vampyres in Manhattan.  This chance encounter leads to some a meeting with arch-enemy Dexter Prado and Joe’s return to the Island.

As usual, Joe plays all sides against one another in an effort to net the results he is looking for.

Giving away much more would be cheating.

I’m a huge fan of Mr. Huston’s work, but I honestly felt he lost a step in this book.  After expanding his vampyre world in Half the Blood of Brooklyn, this book just doesn’t move.  The writing is still top shelf, but it takes to long to set Joe in motion.

Witness this exchange between Joe and Amanda Horde late in the book.

– I guess I’m not as tough as I think I am.

I take a drink.

– Here.

I offer her the bottle.

-Get tougher.

Joe needs to be in motion, because when he is in motion, he tumbles to THE big vampyre secret.  Things pick up quickly from there.

The ending seems a bit rushed, but it sets the stage for the 5th, and possibly (probably?) final book in the series.  If that is the end result, then it makes the pacing of this one forgivable.

If you haven’t read any of Mr. Huston’s book, try starting with Caught Stealing.  If you think a badass vampyre is more your speed, start at the beginning with Already Dead.

You’ll eventually get back to Every Last Drop, becuase like the title suggests, that’s how much I think you’ll like Mr. Huston’s work.

Leave a Reply

