Houston Crack, Chris Porter, and Joel McHale

What do you get when you combine Houston hipster hangouts, wannabe MILFs, barstools, and low-rise jeans? Some of the best crack in the land. I particularly admire the lack of anything — even a thong — obscuring the view. That’s how you can tell we’re dealing with a real woman here, not some just-legal still-exploring college thing.

maxs-crack1

My wife and I eventually got back to enjoying our food and drink (both very good and reasonably priced, especially at happy hour) in time to get to the main event: comedy at Bayou Place. One more word about the first venue, however. I’d avoided it for a long time because of my own anti-hipster fears. It turns out this was only to my detriment. Max’s Wine Dive is very easy to be in, you can spend as much or as little as you want, and the music is good (both from the jukebox and the house).

To put it more simply: they sell $2 Lone Stars. And when they confessed to being out of those, they brought me a Shiner Bock on the house instead.

maxs-crack-detail1

We get to the theater at Bayou Place in plenty of time to get in line, acquire our beers, and find our row 7 seats. My wife and I both very much enjoy the Soup, and when I got an e-mail about host Joel McHale coming to Houston, it was a very easy and appreciated gift score.

First up, however, was Chris Porter. He was introduced as a Last Comic Standing alum, and sure enough I had seen him on my TV the one time I watched the show. Porter was flat out funny. His 20-minute set seemed like 5, and I easily could have rolled with him for another 40.  Edgy without being blue, glib without being dry; he’s definitely one I’ll be keeping my eyes out for as a headliner.

My wife and I wondered how much of McHale’s material would be pop-culture/the Soup driven and the answer ended up being about 65%. Of this, only a very small portion, however, was in anyway recycled, and he used the stage to get more pointed in his celebrity shredding than a TV clips show would likely allow. He was, however, even better when he strayed into more personal territory, particularly his closing block on the wonders of fatherhood.

we-mchale1

If you like the Soup, you’ll have a great time seeing Joel McHale live; if not, you might not. Anybody who enjoys laughing, however, should go see Chris Porter.

One thought on “Houston Crack, Chris Porter, and Joel McHale

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

