Metal Education

Every musical genre has its stereo-typical audience or fans.  Metal is usually chastised for having legions of bone-head followers.  I read an article somewhere not too long ago that refuted that.  It really wasn’t a new revelation to me.  After all, the Metal flows through my veins.  It did make me think of my formidable high school years though and how this music impacted me at that age.  I received more of an education from listening to Metal than I did from my lame public school curriculum.  It was those records and pouring over the lyric sheets that opened my mind to political and social issues, environmentalism, mythology, fantasy, and literature.  Concepts, ideas, and even words that I would not have been exposed to if it were not for my steady diet of Metal, Hard-core, Cross-over, Punk, etc.  And that is one of the main reasons why I cherish this art-form and always will.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Chris says:

    HAIL METAL!!!

Leave a Reply

