Bass Girls

on

What is it about chick bass players that is so hot? For that matter, I find women musicians in general to be attractive (not just in a physical way). For me it’s because the bass guitar is a formidable opponent in stature. As much as the lead guitar is considered a phallic symbol; the bass is a raging monster cock. A woman’s hands manipulating said instrument is a joyous sight. There’s also something mighty about the bass. It is felt as much as heard. A powerful and heavy tool in the arsenal of sonic craftsmanship. Thus the woman that wields this four stringed beast typifies for me the strong woman/tough chick persona. Hail \,,/

Here are some of my faves…

Paz Lenchantin

Paz Lenchantin – Most famous for her work with A Perfect Circle on their first record. The shot of her in the video for “Judith” in the mini skirt and heels, putting her hair in a pony tail at the 01:55 mark, getting the pick out of her mouth, and getting right back into the song is ultra-hot.

Nicole Fiorentino

Nicole Fiorentino – The latest cutie in a long line of female bass players for The Smashing Pumpkins. Just before The Pumpkins, she was a member of the post-Nina Gordon era Veruca Salt. I saw her with Veruca Salt at The Engine Room and couldn’t take my eyes off of her. She’s gorgeous.

Nadja Peulen

Nadja Peulen – She replaced Rayna Foss Rose as the bass player for the now defunct Coal Chamber. In my humble opinion, Nadja is way sexier than Rayna. She has her own t-shirt company and is currently a member of Vera Mesmer.

Melissa Auf Der Maur

Melissa Auf D er Maur – Easily the coolest and most talented of this bunch. She’s played with Hole and The Smashing Pumpkins. Her solo debut record was an absolute masterpiece. A great performer. I saw her twice at SXSW on two different occasions.

Tal Wilkenfeld

Tal Wilkenfeld – The youngest (24) bunny on my list and probably the most accomplished as a musicians musician. She has played with practically everybody. Jeff Beck, David Gilmour, Chick Corea, Vinnie Colaiuta, Herbie Hancock, and many many more. She’s absolutely adorable with her long spiral curls. My friend, Kathy, told me “just wait until you see the girl playing with Jeff Beck” when we were watching the Rock N Roll Hall Of Fame Legends video. Man, she wasn’t kidding.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. aamir says:

    ha! thanks guys. d’arcy was in the news as of late for trouble with the law involving horses. look it up…the mugshot of her is absolutely frightening. yikes!

  2. desTroy says:

    Hells yeah! Excellent post and selections.

    I keep telling the guys in my band to replace our d-bag bass player with a rocking bass chick…and I’m still waiting. When Paz or Tal show up, I’ll gladly become bass cab hauler and fetcher of beers.

    HAIL!

    dT

    1. Chris says:

      hahaha..when I first read that I thought you said ‘felcher of beers.’

      Aamir’s got a keen eye, he does.

      1. desTroy says:

        Ha! “felcher of beers”? Perhaps, if they were the right variety of microbrew. Otherwise…nah, man!

        Yep Aamir’s list is pretty spot on. It made me think of bass chick D’arcy (Wretzky) from this neck of the woods, who used to be amazingly hot. Sadly it sounds like she has had a few tough years.

  3. Chris says:

    Now THAT’s what I’m talking about! Nice one man.

Leave a Reply

