The Orson Randall Project – Update 1

I’ve made no secret of my admiration for Marvel’s new take on Iron Fist.  They took a very one-dimensional character and gave him some serious depth.

In fact, I have a pair of Iron Fist action figures sitting on my desk at work.  One is the Marvel Universe action figure.  I have to be honest when I say he’s not one of my favorites.  Sure, he’s got a lot of articulation, but he’s just not imposing.

The other is the SuperHero Squad Iron Fist.  He’s very fun.  Tiny and posed for kung fu capers.  It was him who gave me the inspiration for the Orson Randall Project.

For those of you unfamiliar with Orson Randall, he is Danny Rand’s predecessor as Iron Fist.  In current continuity, he has been in hiding since the pulp years of the 40s, chasing the dragon as he hides from the dragon.

With me so far?

No?  Read more here.

Anyway, Orson is a cool character and as I was looking at my tiny little SHS Iron Fist, I wondered if it would be possible to make a SHS Orson.  To do so I was going to need a couple of  things.

First, another SHS Iron Fist.  Stephe kindly provided me with one of those for Christmas.

Secondly, I needed another, more Orson-ey body.  Enter this guy.

No, not Blade!

The Punisher.

My plan then is to use the Punisher body above along with a couple of parts from the SHS Iron Fist and some paint to make Orson.

Wish me luck.

Updates will follow as the project progresses.

Leave a Reply

